IMAG0646.jpgAh, you’re not going yet…

This was a regular turn of phrase of my mothers, especially in her last year when her illness took away her freedom to do and to go where she wished, no little secret shopping expeditions on the 33b, no ferreting treasures in the back of the wardrobe to be produced one day with ‘I’ve had that ages’ when complimented on it..

Often I’d come home after a long shift, yearning for bed, I’d call in to say hello physically as well as mentally trying to do my duty, when I felt a reasonable time had passed I’d get up to go, her face would fall and she’d utter ‘ah you’re not going yet’.

On today, mothers day I wish she was here to utter that phrase, I wish I could relive those moments and stay sitting, wait longer and listen more, you’ll miss me when I’m gone she’d say, of course you were right, I do…

Happy Mothers Day Mam…love you x

Leave a comment